“At a time when the COVID-19 pandemic confronts Quebec with the most serious economic crisis in its contemporary history, its inability to improve its productivity and hence to generate wealth is a cause for concern,” says Robert Gagné, Director of the Centre for Productivity and Prosperity – Walter J. Somers Foundation (CPP). It is already coping with a structural problem that is widening the gap between the province and the main Western economies, year after year, and now must deal with the consequences of an unprecedented economic shock. This is the premise of the 11th edition of Productivity and Prosperity in Quebec – Overview, released today by the CPP.

A historic shock

The annual CPP Overview starts by noting that in the first six months of 2020, Quebec’s GDP plunged by 15.5% when the brakes were applied to the provincial economy. Of the 20 industrialized countries Quebec is compared with, only Spain, Italy and France suffered more serious declines during this period.

“Although Quebec has been particularly hard hit by the pandemic, the shock in terms of public finances will be largely softened by its government’s responsible management of the budgetary balance over the past five years,” notes Jonathan Deslauriers, Executive Director and co-author of the study. “On the other hand, the pandemic may well leave an indelible imprint on the country’s finances.” According to the latest forecasts, the deficits accumulated by all Canadian public administrations for 2020–2021 are likely to approach 20% of the national GDP, making Canada the country that took on the most debt to weather the crisis.

Not surprisingly, the federal government is largely responsible for this situation. The latest economic update calls for its program spending to increase by 71% during this fiscal year, to about $15,900 per capita. As a result, Ottawa will be faced with the largest budgetary deficit in its contemporary history, of $382 billion. With the deficits accumulated before the crisis to finance short-term economic growth, the federal government will have added $476 billion to its consumer debt since 2015, for an overall increase of 76%. “If borrowing conditions were to tighten up, the recovery could prove long or painful for future generations,” emphasizes Deslauriers.

 Some recommendations

While the Quebec government managed to ride out the first wave thanks the margin of manoeuvre it gained in recent years, it is not out of the woods. “Far from it,” maintains Gagné. “These efforts allowed the province to improve its public finances on paper, true, but in practice the deficit when it comes to maintaining its infrastructure continues to threaten intergenerational equity. The government will have to proceed carefully, as otherwise its actions to support the recovery could well disrupt the fragile balance between passing along a higher bill to future generations as it accumulates further deficits, or once again neglecting the province’s infrastructure.”

The authors suggest that the government give itself more room to manoeuvre by liquidating the Generations Fund. This would reduce the impact of the next two deficits on the debt, and at the same time free up funds for repairing the province’s infrastructure.

To stimulate the recovery, rather than attempting to respond to the crisis through passive measures to support all industries and all jobs regardless of their viability or growth potential, the Quebec government should focus on the three pillars of productivity: education, innovation and investment. In this way it will succeed in fostering a lasting recovery, while tackling the structural problem that has been hindering the province’s economic growth for too long now. “The Quebec government’s recent economic update has set the tone – now it remains to be seen whether it will manage to hold this course,” concludes Gagné.


To read more : Deslauriers, Jonathan, Robert Gagné and Jonathan Paré, Productivity and Prosperity in Quebec – 2020 Overview, Centre for Productivity and Prosperity (CPP) – Walter J. Somers Foundation, HEC Montréal, December 2020

Read the publication

« Dans un contexte où la pandémie de la COVID-19 confronte le Québec à la plus importante crise économique de son histoire, son incapacité à redresser sa productivité et par conséquent, à générer de la richesse, a de quoi préoccuper, déclare Robert Gagné, directeur du Centre sur la productivité et la prospérité – Fondation Walter J. Somers (CPP). Déjà aux prises avec un problème structurel qui accentue année après année son retard sur les principales économies occidentales, la province doit désormais composer avec les contrecoups d’un choc conjoncturel d’une ampleur inégalée. Voilà la prémisse sur laquelle s’appuie la onzième édition de Productivité et prospérité au Québec-Bilan dévoilée aujourd’hui par le CPP.

Un choc historique

D’entrée de jeu, le bilan annuel du CPP nous apprend qu’au cours des deux premiers trimestres de 2020, le PIB du Québec a chuté de 15,5 % en raison de la mise en veille de l’économie de la province. Des 20 pays industrialisés avec qui le Québec est comparé, seuls l’Espagne, l’Italie et la France, ont encaissé une baisse plus importante au cours de cette période.

« Bien que le Québec ait été particulièrement affecté par la pandémie, son impact sur les finances publiques sera en grande partie atténué par la gestion responsable que son gouvernement a su effectuer sur le solde budgétaire au cours des cinq dernières années, estime Jonathan Deslauriers, directeur exécutif et coauteur de l’étude. En revanche, la pandémie risque de laisser une marque permanente sur les finances du pays ». Selon les plus récentes prévisions, les déficits cumulés par l’ensemble des administrations publiques canadiennes pour l’année 2020-2021 devraient avoisiner 20 % du PIB du pays, ce qui positionnerait le Canada en tête des pays s’étant le plus endettés pour traverser cette crise.

Sans grande surprise, le gouvernement du Canada est grandement responsable de la situation. Selon la dernière mise à jour économique, ses dépenses de programmes devraient s’accroître de 71 % au cours de l’année financière en cours, et se chiffrer à environ 15 900 $ par habitant. En conséquence, le fédéral déclarera le plus important déficit budgétaire de son histoire contemporaine, soit 382 G$. Additionnés aux déficits cumulés en amont de la crise pour financer la croissance économique à court terme, ce sont donc 476 G$ qui seront venus gonfler la dette de consommation du gouvernement fédéral depuis 2015, soit une hausse globale de 76 %. « Si les conditions d’emprunt viennent à se resserrer, la relance risque d’être longue, sinon douloureuse pour les générations à venir. », soutient Jonathan Deslauriers.

Quelques recommandations

Même si le gouvernement du Québec est parvenu à colmater la brèche grâce à la marge de manœuvre dégagée au cours des dernières années, il n’est pas pour autant à l’abri des défis. « Loin de là, soutient Robert Gagné. Ces efforts ont certes permis à la province de redresser ses finances publiques sur papier mais en pratique, le déficit d’entretien des infrastructures de la province menace toujours l’équité intergénérationnelle. Le gouvernement devra donc jouer de prudence, sans quoi ses interventions pour relancer l’économie risquent de compromettre le fragile équilibre entre refiler la facture aux générations futures en enchaînant les déficits, et négliger à nouveau les infrastructures de la province. »

Pour se donner davantage de flexibilité, les auteurs suggèrent de liquider le Fonds des générations. Ce faisant, le gouvernement réduirait l’empreinte des deux prochains déficits sur la dette, et libérerait du même coup des revenus pour soutenir la réfection des infrastructures de la province.

Pour stimuler la reprise, le gouvernement du Québec devrait prioriser les interventions orientées vers les trois piliers de la productivité : l’éducation, l’innovation et l’investissement, plutôt que de réagir à la crise par des mesures passives qui soutiennent tous les secteurs d’activité et tous les emplois, sans égard à leur viabilité ou à leur potentiel de croissance. L’État québécois parviendrait ainsi à soutenir une relance durable, tout en s’attaquant de front au problème structurel qui entrave la croissance économique du Québec depuis déjà trop longtemps. « Le ton a été donné par la récente mise à jour économique du Québec, reste maintenant à voir si le gouvernement parviendra à maintenir le cap », conclut Robert Gagné


Pour en savoir davantage : Deslauriers, Jonathan, Robert Gagné et Jonathan Paré, Productivité et prospérité au Québec – Bilan 2020, Centre sur la productivité et la prospérité (CPP) – Fondation Walter J. Somers, HEC Montréal, Décembre 2020

Lire la publication