To mark a decade of research into the issue of productivity in Quebec, the Centre for Productivity and Prosperity – Walter J. Somers Foundation (CPP) is pleased to release the tenth edition of Productivity and Prosperity in Quebec – Overview. “This overview was originally intended to alert decision-makers to the challenge of productivity and its impact on Quebec’s economic prosperity,” explains CPP Director Robert Gagné. “Back then, there was serious cause for concern: after 30 years of particularly lethargic productivity growth, a wide gap had opened up in terms of economic prosperity between Quebec and the main Western economies. Since then the political discourse has evolved, but the same basic problem remains: because it hasn’t improved its productivity, Quebec is still having trouble generating wealth.”

The result is that even today the findings of the 2018 Overview are still cause for concern. For all practical purposes, labour productivity has flatlined over the past four years, posting average annual growth of barely 0.1%. In short, the new government faces a considerable challenge.

Troubling findings, tangible consequences

Quebeckers have eventually had to pay for their economy’s laggard growth. They have less money to spend and save than the residents of other provinces. With average per capita disposable income of $28,455 in 2017, Quebec now sits at the bottom of the heap, whereas barely 20 years ago the province outperformed the Canadian average.

“People sometimes try to downplay the importance of disposable income, claiming that there is less income inequality in Quebec, or that we have a lower cost of living,” says Jonathan Deslauriers, Assistant CPP Director. “But these arguments can’t explain the gap between Quebec and the other provinces. For example, as compared with Ontario, there is less inequality in Quebec because the richest people here are not as wealthy as their Ontario counterparts, and not because the poorer people here are better off. Even when we adjust our calculations to reflect the cost of living in Quebec, the fact remains that without adequate economic prosperity, the vast majority of Quebec households have less money to spend and save.”

Real solutions possible

Based on ten years of studying this issue, the researchers have identified three areas to focus on in order to boost the province’s productivity and improve its performance: invest in education, stimulate private investment and encourage innovation.

“Quebec has long lagged behind all the other provinces when it comes to public spending on education, and would do very well to boost its investment in human capital,” suggests Robert Gagné. “With barely 9% growth in real spending on education over the past ten years, the province clearly hasn’t invested enough upstream to boost its workers’ productivity. By investing wisely in education, the government could eliminate two major obstacles to Quebec’s productivity: the high drop-out rate and the low university graduation rate, which currently limits the province’s ability to innovate.”

In addition, to improve its innovation ability, Quebec would do well to invest more in research and development (R&D). In 2016, the province devoted $2,171 per job to R&D, substantially less than countries like Finland, Sweden and Denmark, which outspend Quebec by 90% on R&D. The researchers say that the relative weakness of private spending on R&D reflects a broader problem: generally speaking, businesses in Quebec do not invest much. “With private non-residential investment of $8,212 per job in 2017, Quebec compares poorly with the 20 OECD countries used for our comparisons year after year,” notes the Director. “For instance, private investment in Finland was 1.7 times greater than in Quebec, and yet even that country was far from the top of this ranking.”

The solution lies with business

The researchers report that the relative weakness of investment in human capital, physical capital and R&D have eventually had an impact on the performance of Quebec firms. “In the late 90s, the productivity gap between firms in Quebec and Ontario was attributable essentially to a structural effect,” explains Gagné. “In other words, if Quebec’s economic structure had been identical to Ontario’s at the time – i.e. if the distribution by industry of hours worked in Quebec had been identical to that in Ontario – Quebec’s labour productivity would have been marginally higher than in its neighbouring province.”

But since then this effect has faded and less than 25% of the difference between the two provinces is attributable to their structures. “Because it was unable to make the necessary changes, Quebec is now faced with a pure productivity problem,” concludes Gagné. “If no action is taken to remedy this situation, the wealth gap between Quebec and other economies is bound to widen.”


To read more : Deslauriers, Jonathan, Robert Gagné and Jonathan Paré, Productivity and Prosperity in Quebec – 2018 Overview, Centre for Productivity and Prosperity (CPP) – Walter J. Somers Foundation, HEC Montréal, March 2019

Read the publication

Pour souligner une décennie de recherche sur l’enjeu de la productivité au Québec, le Centre sur la productivité et la prospérité – Fondation Walter J. Somers (CPP) dévoile aujourd’hui la dixième édition de Productivité et prospérité au Québec – Bilan. « Initialement, ce bilan visait à sensibiliser les décideurs au défi de la productivité et à son impact sur la prospérité économique du Québec, explique Robert Gagné, directeur du CPP. À cette époque, la réalité avait de quoi préoccuper : après 30 ans de croissance particulièrement lente en matière de productivité, un important écart de prospérité économique séparait le Québec des principales économies occidentales. Depuis, le discours politique a évolué mais sur le fond, le problème demeure entier : faute d’avoir redressé sa performance en matière de productivité, le Québec peine toujours à générer de la richesse. »

Si bien qu’encore aujourd’hui, les constats tirés du Bilan 2018 continuent d’inquiéter. Au cours des quatre dernières années, la productivité du travail est, à toute fin pratique, demeurée au neutre au Québec avec une croissance annuelle moyenne d’à peine 0,1 %. En bref, un défi de taille attend le nouveau gouvernement.

Des constats préoccupants, des conséquences tangibles

Ainsi, au fil du temps, les Québécois ont fini par être rattrapés par la lente croissance de leur économie. Désormais, ils disposent de moins d’argent pour consommer et épargner que les résidents des autres provinces. Avec un revenu disponible moyen de 28 455 $ par habitant en 2017, le Québec est actuellement relégué en queue de peloton alors qu’il y a à peine 20 ans, cette province se comparait avantageusement à la moyenne canadienne.

« On tente parfois de minimiser l’enjeu du revenu disponible en invoquant des inégalités de revenus plus faibles au Québec, ou encore un coût de la vie moins élevé, soulève Jonathan Deslauriers, directeur adjoint au CPP. Mais dans les deux cas, ces arguments ne peuvent expliquer l’écart observé avec les autres provinces. À titre d’exemple, face à l’Ontario, les inégalités sont plus faibles au Québec parce que les plus riches y ont un revenu inférieur à leurs vis-à-vis et non parce que les pauvres y sont mieux nantis. Et même en ajustant les calculs pour tenir compte du coût de la vie au Québec, le constat reste le même : faute d’une prospérité économique adéquate, la majorité des ménages dispose de moins d’argent pour consommer et épargner. »

Des pistes de solutions concrètes

À la lumière de ces dix années de recherche sur la question, les chercheurs identifient trois champs d’action pour accroître la productivité de la province et en améliorer la performance : investir en éducation, stimuler l’investissement privé et favoriser l’innovation.

« Confiné depuis longtemps au bas du classement national au chapitre des dépenses publiques en éducation, le Québec aurait tout avantage à accroître son investissement en capital humain, avance Robert Gagné. Avec une croissance d’à peine 9 % de ses dépenses réelles en éducation au cours des dix dernières années, le Québec n’a clairement pas déployé l’effort financier requis pour accroître en amont la productivité de ses travailleurs. En investissant judicieusement en éducation, l’État pourrait éliminer deux entraves majeures à la productivité de la province : le décrochage scolaire et un taux de diplomation universitaire insuffisant, qui limite actuellement la capacité de la province à innover ».

Pour améliorer cette capacité à innover, le Québec aurait par ailleurs intérêt à investir davantage en recherche et développement (R-D). En 2016, la province a consacré 2 171 $ par emploi à la R-D, un effort nettement moins substantiel que celui déployé par des pays tels que la Finlande, la Suède ou le Danemark, qui dépensent jusqu’à 90 % de plus que le Québec en R-D. Selon les chercheurs, la faiblesse relative des dépenses privées en R-D serait le reflet d’un problème constaté à plus grande échelle : de façon générale, les entreprises de la province investissent peu. « Avec un investissement privé non résidentiel chiffré à 8 212 $ par emploi en 2017, le Québec fait plutôt piètre figure face aux 20 pays de l’OCDE avec lesquels on le compare année après année, précise le directeur. Par exemple, l’investissement privé en Finlande y était 1,7 fois plus élevé qu’au Québec et pourtant, ce pays était loin d’occuper la tête de ce classement. »

La solution devra passer par les entreprises

A posteriori, les chercheurs constatent donc que la faiblesse relative des investissements en capital humain, en capital physique et en R-D a fini par se répercuter sur la performance des entreprises québécoises. «  À la fin des années 90, l’écart de productivité entre les entreprises du Québec et celles de l’Ontario était essentiellement attribuable à un effet de structure, explique le directeur. Autrement dit, si la structure de l’économie québécoise avait alors été identique à celle de l’Ontario – c’est-à-dire si la répartition sectorielle des heures travaillées au Québec avait été identique à celle de sa voisine – le Québec aurait affiché une productivité légèrement supérieure à celle de l’Ontario. »

Mais depuis, cet effet s’est estompé et aujourd’hui, moins de 25 % de l’écart Québec-Ontario est attribuable à un effet de structure. « Faute d’avoir su corriger le tir, le Québec est désormais aux prises avec un problème de productivité pure, conclut Robert Gagné. Si rien n’est fait pour rectifier la situation, cet écart de richesse que le Québec accuse face aux autres économies se creusera inéluctablement. »


Pour en savoir davantage : Deslauriers, Jonathan, Robert Gagné et Jonathan Paré, Productivité et prospérité au Québec – Bilan 2018, Centre sur la productivité et la prospérité (CPP) – Fondation Walter J. Somers, HEC Montréal, Mars 2019

Lire la publication